Immigrant hopes for our homelands

Untitled

My friend Sarah shared this reflection from Cairo, and my heart split open, recognizing the same sentiment I experience whenever I go back for a visit to Pakistan. I feel Sarah’s words in relation to my Pakistan, and it breaks my heart. So much potential. So much love, camaraderie, joy, art, beauty, energy, reflection, faith, and passion. Let us continue to hope that these beautiful countries meet their potential.

As an immigrant with a perpetually broken heart, I pray that we are not forced to leave our homes, our roots, our families, our memories, and all that keeps us grounded, in search of a decent life.

And, in the process, may we not then become the objects of hate.

Many thanks and warm embraces to those who welcome immigrants and refugees. But I desperately want to see a worldwide movement that addresses global inequalities. I want to see serious work that addresses the complex internal and external problems that plague politically unstable societies. I want to see reparations for colonialism and an end to exploitative international trade and political games. I want to stop seeing major powers perpetually meddle in the affairs of these societies and leave them worse than before. I want our homes back. So our children can be safe there as you want to keep your children safe here.

Leave a Reply

