And life is altered

A physician in oncology at Northwestern Medicine asked me today: “Why did you get a bilateral mastectomy?” He seems puzzled, curious.

I’m a little startled. Why does he seem like there was an option? Was there an option? How to respond? All the information, encouragement, push, and fear from physicians when treated for breast cancer back in 2009 at Oklahoma University Medicine gave me one message: Get rid of them. Your chances of a recurrence are higher. I did. Should I have?

Today, just 5 years later, the physician chuckles and says, “Well, we wouldn’t have done that here.”

I’m glad we figured that out now. Now that I have no breasts.

One Reply to “And life is altered”

Leave a Reply

