Love poetry

Some days, you have to let go of everything and give in. For me, if I allow myself to listen to Pathana Khan’s rendition of Hazrat Khwaja Ghulam Farid’s Meda ishq vee tun, it will happen by itself. The passion-drenched soft Saraiki lyrics in the elderly folk-singer’s powerful voice wield a force irresistible. Enjoy it, with lyrics and translation here. I’ve copied the English translation below: please let me know if you find out who to credit. Or the love-insanity of the shaikh’s Yaar daadhi ishq aatish in the voice of Muhammad Jumman.

And soak in the faizan of Hazrat Khwaja Ghulam Farid, in the pages of Maqabees-al-Majalis translated by my beloved shaikh, Hazrat Wahid Baksh Sial Rabbani.

You Are My Ardour
You are my ardour, my friend, faith, creed.
You are my body, you are my spirit, heart, soul.
You’re the direction towards which I pray.
You are my Mecca, my mosque, my pulpit.
You are my holy books and my Quran.
You are my religious obligations,
My Hajj, charity, fasting, call to prayer.
You are my asceticism, worship,
My obedience and my piety.
You are my knowledge and you’re my gnosis .
You’re my remembrance, my contemplation
You are my tasting and my ecstasy.
You are my love, my sweet, my darling, my honey
You are my favourite, and my soulmate!
You’re my spiritual preceptor, my guide ,
You are my Shaykh and my Enlightened One
You are my hope, my wish, my gains, losses.
You’re all I see, my pride, my deliv’rance.
You’re my faith, my honour, modesty, glory
You’re my pain, sorrow, my crying, playing
You are my illness and my remedy.
You are what lulls me to a peaceful sleep.
You are my beauty and my fate, fortune, fame.
You are my looking, enquiring, seeking
You are my understanding, my knowing
You are my henna, my collyrium,
My rouge, my tobacco, my betel-leaf!
You are my terror, my passion, madness
You’re my crying and my lamentation.
You are my Alpha and my Omega,
My Inner, Outer, Hidden, Manifest.
If, O Belovéd, you accept Farid
You are my Sovereign and my Sultan.

4 thoughts on “Love poetry”

  1. I have had the listening pleasure of this man’s rendering with his forceful voice which I was not familiar with before, now the late Mr. Pathana Khan
    Of course translation is just that but listening to those words in original is difficult to describe. That was when my hearing was not gone.

  2. The last part will be better translated like this: O fareed if the Belovéd accepts you,
    Then you are the King, you are the Sultan.
    Otherwise you are worthless, meanest,
    The most lowly, most inferior, insignificant,
    A Non-existant thing beyond any probability,
    Beyond any consideration
    (Jay Yar, Farred! qabool karay
    Sarkar v Toon, Sultan v toon
    Na Tan kehtir Kamtar Ahqar Adna
    La Shay La Imkaan v toon)

Leave a Reply

