Dude, you’re gettin’ a dud

I had my Sony VAIO for four years before I had serious problems. I just got this Dell XPS M1210 this year. It’s already crashing and freezing continuously.

For someone who is starting a new job and writing a book manuscript, this is serious trouble. When I need to get a spot of work done, when I have a moment of leisure from the 2-year old, it is essential that I get that work done. When with 2 measly programs open, the laptop freezes up and chokes, I cannot. It is another story that Vista stinks to high heaven.

I am very unhappy that the money I spent – while still unemployed – has gone to waste.

12 thoughts on “Dude, you’re gettin’ a dud”

  1. Downgrading to XP is an option.

    Call your vendor and tell then you want to downgrade. Make sure to get all three “service pack”s.

    Otherwise you can try installing Linux. Vista will be there, but you can work on Linux when you need stability.

    I recommend Ubuntu. It will take a little while to get used to, but it’s worth it. (Note that your modem will not work. Ethernet port, bluetooth and USB internet will work- best is to ask and make sure.)

  2. I have an Acer and, alhamdulillah, it has not given me a single problem yet and it has been several months since I purchased it. Every laptop has its downfalls, however, and there are some qualms that other people have with Acers, but I have yet to experience any. Perhaps you can try an Acer later on in life or whenever you are willing to make the investment🙂

  3. Congrats on your new job. How’s the little one doing and her mommy, I know eh, it’s been a while since I *passed* these sides🙂

  4. May be its not lap top, its you?

    Don’t get me wrong. May be a bad download has done the damage. Can you just reboot the whole thing.

  5. Did you get a “startup salary”? Dh got one which was about $6K for computer and office equipment. The University also throws a new laptop at him every 3 years or so just for the fun of it.

  6. Salaam! I haven’t been keeping up very well, and only now realized that you’ve started a job! A tenure-track job!! Congratulations Koonj, I wish you all the best! A book, a toddler, a faculty job (wow, wow, wow :-): may it all go well for you.

    P.S. I had a computer ‘malfunction’ myself and lost a few bits of data that I miss. One is your email address… hence this blog comment.

Leave a Reply

