Dead meat

The other day we shelled out a bunch of somewhat non-existent money to buy halaal meat at the only remaining desi shop in Athens. It was meant as preparation for a well-stocked kitchen in Ramadan.

Sadly, on our return, the person who is supposed to unload the car forgot a bag full of chicken and goat meat.ย  The other person, who generally points out omissions, (cough) was too preoccupied with academic work to notice. (One moral of the story: academic-types, don’t marry *within* the community).
A day and a half later, when I was taking Raihana to school, I was overpowered by a nasty stench in the car. I looked for baby-discarded food in the seats and found none. “Is there some way a lizard or mouse could have CLIMBED inside the car and died there?” I asked Svend. He shook his head uncertainly. Eventually when I did a thorough search, I unearthed a rotting bag full of dreadful stinking meat under the stroller in my nice car.

The garbage can outdoors smells for yards and yards. I have sneakily begged Svend to dump the bag elsewhere, and he refuses to take it anywhere in his car. As for my car, thoroughly cleaned out – fortunately the meat had sat and bled out only on a leathery surface that could be removed and thoroughly hosed down – still smells like a corpse. It’s enough to turn us all vegetarians if we were not devout carnivores.

8 Replies to “Dead meat”

  1. awwe i m sorry.all the money wasted.like musicalchef we went through the same regarding potaotes.n if vergeta ble can stink,than imagine meat.i hope the smell goes soon.

  2. HAAAAAA @ ” (One moral of the story: academic-types, donโ€™t marry *within* the community).”

    and, EW. That’s one of the worst smells in the world. Thanks for reminding me to take out my garbage.

  3. Awwwww
    One of the reasons Hindoos try to avoid Muslims in India is, “mass khatay hain” (they eat meat) and according to them they smell “mass”. This is in addition to the fact that Musalman bhrisht ker daitay hain.
    Not speaking ‘ill’ of Hindoos. I used to play with my Hindoo friends in Saugor (I was only 6-7 years old) and sometimes I would run through their kitchen. The women of the house never said anything to me but just clean-up (leepa-poti) afterwards

  4. leepa-poti=clean up?

    I need to know that, for husby.

    I found a website which translates most ingredients in desi cooking from Urdu to English, which will help when he’s looking for things in the kitchen. I still remember fondly the day he ran around shouting “where’s the illechi??” and I had to look it up so I could tell him.

Leave a Reply

